Goa can be a solo trip!

That Goa plan that we all want in college, but seems like its never going to happen. I kind of had similar thoughts. I made several plans to Goa and all of them fell apart because either someone doesn't want to go, or they don't have money, or they're schedule is too busy (which it isn't by the way, its just something people say when they don't want to go, I am guilty of this as well).

I was so sick of the same routine of work all day, a bit of sleep every night, trying to keep my social life afloat and not sleeping a few nights because of that, and of course the cherry on top, the New Delhi pollution. It all just got too much for me; I just made a decision to take some time off. My friend Srishti saw how frustrated I was, made me look for tickets in front of her. Suddenly I found cheap tickets to Goa on Wednesday and I was on a flight Thursday night. It felt as if the universe was on my side.

Thursday

I got to Goa, grabbed a car that I had booked (self drive; its not as expensive as you would think) and just went straight to my Hostel. I was staying all the way up in Anjuna beach, North Goa at The Funky Monkey Hostel. Cheap and a really good find. Staying in a 6 bed dorm and it being a Thursday night, I thought I'll just crash and figure out something to do the next morning.

Suddenly I meet someone at the hostel and I'm driving to Baga Beach at 2am. Got a few drinks, met some other people from the hostel at the beach party, danced a little and a beer by the beach to end the night. Sounds perfect doesn't it.

Friday

Made a plan to head to Morjim beach with everyone and took off. Nice tranquil beach with just a few people, warm sand, perfect weather to just sit and hear the waves crashing, absolutely smashing (pun intended). Later got some lunch at a shack, slightly inland, chatted with a few people and made some new friends.

In the evening headed back to the hostel and everyone just sat in the common area with drinks and hung around. A bunch of solo travellers from around the world, just having a great time meeting new people, exploring new places and sharing inspiring stories. The night ended with us going to another beach party all together (when in goa you see).

Saturday

I just grabbed breakfast and headed to south Goa to explore. Best way to do this is just park your vehicle anywhere in the area (old Goa) and just stroll down the streets. Old Portuguese architecture, trees swaying, slight breeze and a walk to remember. Doesn't that sound ideal, it totally was.

I went and grabbed some coffee at this art gallery/ coffee shop called Bodega Cafe. Beautiful building, lovely people and some good coffee. I spent the whole day just exploring Panjim and its lovely lanes and it was a day well spent. Of course I headed back to the hostel and went out for yet another beach party (repeat: when in Goa).

Sunday

A few of us headed down to south Goa and grabbed lunch at a beautiful little place called Konkni Kanteen. Such lovely konkani food, you'll end up licking the spoon to shreads. Then a little more exploring around in the area, then headed further south. Stumbled upon a beach called Grandmother's hole beach, Yes, that's actually the unfortunate name. It was a small climb down to this hidden beach with just a few souls and a beautiful view and wonderful water. Watching the sunset there just felt serene.

The night came to close with a few of us just drinking a few beers in the common area of the hostel and some intriguing conversation.

Monday

After a good night sleep (sort of), I was treated to a two star Michellin French meal. Freshly caught and cooked prawns and fish. How you ask, one of the guys staying at the hostel was a chef from Paris who has two michellin stars; you can find such different people at a hostel and it never fails to surprise you.

Later, we headed down to the Curlies Cafe at Anjuna Beach. Sat there looking out at the sea, some very well cooked food (chicken club sandwich was my personal favourite) and some friendly rounds of cards. As the sun started setting, we went in for a little dip in the water, and floated with the waves. Now reluctantly the time for me to go back had come. It has been a pleasure to be in Goa and a brilliantly wonderful memory that I shall cherish.

If you are in the same position as me, just pick up your bag and head over to Goa. A solo trip in Goa is totally possible, you get to make some lifelong friends, meet interesting people, explore new places at your convenience and just maybe, you might be able to find a little bit of yourself that you didn't know was there.

Tips for Budget Travellers:

Stay at a hostel – Find a good one and stay there, its a lot cheaper than a hotel, probably better as well. If you are comfortable then get a dorm, I got a 6 bed AC dorm and was very comfortable. Hostels are a great way to meet new people while travelling.

Go in off season – It is not only cheaper but also less crowded, you still meet plenty of people, but its nicer to go around. If you are like me and don't like crowded spaces, then don't even think of going during in season.

Beach Shacks – Avoid having every meal at a beach shack, you can find thalis for 100-150 INR which are filling and don't burn a hole in your pocket. But do splurge on a few meals by the beach.

Alcohol – If you are planning on chilling at the beach or the hostel, just go to a beer shop and buy the alcohol there, it is way cheaper than buying it at a restaurant. A beer can be as less as 50 INR.

Clubs – Try and find other people to go with (if you're staying at a hostel, shouldn't be a problem at all). Going alone will incur entry charges.

Enjoy your trip to Goa and comment below with your experiences and let me know what you thought of it. Tell me what your solo experience was like.

Follow me on social media for regular updates on my travels –

Instagram: @shankhchatterjee
Facebook page: drifttoday

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑